Calvert Optimist Club installs new officers


Submitted photo

Prince Frederick, MD - The 2018/19 Officers and Directors for both the Club and Foundation were duly installed at the Sept. 10 dinner meeting at the Calvert Taphouse.  MDSD Governor Bill Stone presided over the installation of the officers and directors for the 2018/19 Optimist Year.

The Club Officers for 2018/19 are: President - Krista Brezina; Internal Vice-President - Kathryn AtLee Marsh; External Vice-President - Kurt Brezina; Treasurer Bunk Horsmon; and Secretary – Ed Dorsey.  2018/19 Directors serving two-year terms are: Tom Parran, Jimmy Taylor, and, Bob Young; Director serving a one-year term-Bob Merkle.  Returning Directors David Porter, and Kathy Smith. Past President Jack Brown; will complete the 2018/19 Club Board of Directors.

The Foundation Officers for 2018/19 are: President – Ed Dorsey; and Secretary – Philip Mohler. 2018/19 Directors serving two-year terms are: Jerry Hill, Betty Knapp and Bob Young.  Returning Directors Nancy Glorius, Howard ‘Bunk’ Horsmon and Tom Parran will join Club President Krista Brezina and complete the 2018/19 Foundation Board of Directors.

The Club’s 50th Anniversary is fast approaching but there is still time to get your RSVP into the committee.  The date is Saturday – October 27, 2018, the place is the Calvert County Fairgrounds. The time is 4 – 8PM.  The menu for the evening is Beef Top Round with Au Jus; fried chicken, fried oysters, steamed shrimp, scalloped potatoes, coleslaw, veggie medley, rolls, coffee, tea and water; catered by Thompson Catering.

Tickets are $25/person and RSVP are required. Contact President Jack Brown 301-855-7546 or email at ; or Tom Parran 443-532-6088 or email at 

Don’t miss this celebration of the Calvert Club’s 50th Anniversary…contact Jack or Tom today!

Around the Web


0 Comments Write your comment

    1. Loading...