MDA Honors Employees with Long Service Awards

ANNAPOLIS, MD – The Maryland Department of Agriculture (MDA) Sept. 30 honored 57 employees for their years of dedicated service to the department and to the state. Special recognition was bestowed on John Heard of St. Mary’s County for his 45 years in the Mosquito Control Section. Of the 57 employees being honored – 16 have 30 or more years service with the state. All together, these 57 employees represent 1,145 years of public service and more than 2.3 million hours worked and almost 30,000 paychecks.

In addition to recognizing long-time employees, MDA also presented its Employee of the Year Award to Shawn Smith, MDA Office of Resource Conservation; and Employee of the 4th Quarter to Jessica Koontz, MDA Office of Plant Industries and Pest Management.

“MDA and the agriculture community are fortunate to have such a dedicated and knowledgeable corps of employees working to strengthen the State of Maryland and this agency each and every day,” said MDA Secretary Joe Bartenfelder. “Since its inception, MDA has been protecting consumers and the environment and ensuring fairness in the marketplace. It is a true testament to the value of our work that many of the employees honored this year have been with department since its earliest years.”

Shawn Smith, Soil Conservation Planner III, was recognized as Employee of the Year for his leadership in making significant improvements to the records management and continuity for Concentrated Animal Feeding Operations and Maryland Animal Feeding Operations. Shawn is credited with creating a tool that standardized Comprehensive Nutrient Management Plans, allowing reviewing parties or agencies to find reference data in the same place in every plan.

Jessica Koontz, Office Supervisor for Pesticide Regulation Section, was named Employee of the Quarter for overseeing several administrative changes within the section while short staffed. Jessica was instrumental in working with the MDA’s IT Department, Maryland Department of Information Technology, Towson University and others to develop an online system that allows pest control businesses, public agencies, private applicators and restricted use pesticide dealers to renew their licenses, permits and certificates online.

The following is a listing by county of the MDA employees who were recognized with long-service awards.

Allegany County

Biff Thompson, Forest Pest, 25 years

Anne Arundel County

Brenda Alexander, Central Services, 30 years
Donna Crouch, Plant Protection, 30 years
Laura Smith, Animal Health, 30 years
Louise Lawrence, Resource Conservation, 30 years           
Barbara Smallman, Turf and Seed, 25 years
Carrie DeBoy, Information Technology Services, 20 years
Donna Birdsong, Turf and Seed, 20 years
Lynn McNally, Central Services, 20 years
Amy Eichelman, State Chemist, 15 years
Tonya Kendrick, State Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners, 15 years
Genesis Parker, Turf and Seed, 10 years
Stephen Hurst, Turf and Seed, 10 years
Vanessa Orlando, Executive Direction, 10 years

Baltimore City

Mary Martin, IT Services, 30 years
Karen Wick, State Chemist, 25 years
Jessica Koontz, Pesticide Regulation, 10 years
Venus Torbit, State Chemist, 10 years
Susan Payne, Resource Conservation, 10 years

Baltimore County

Hazel Day, Human Resources, 25 years
Rowland Agbede, Resource Conservation, 25 years

Calvert County

Cindy White, State Chemist, 25 years

Caroline County

Elaine Friel, Resource Conservation, 30 years
Deborah Hayes, Plant Protection, 30 years
Colin Jones, Resource Conservation, 15 years

Carroll County                        

Jason Watt, Resource Conservation, 15 years
William Rawlings, Food Quality, 10 years

Dorchester County

Charles Coleman, Weights and Measures, 30 years
Merry McNeil, Fiscal Services, 30 years
David Wilson, Resource Conservation, 20 years

Frederick County

Kenneth Favorite, Resource Conservation, 25 years
Holly Boyer, Resource Conservation, 10 years

Garrett County

Roger Kitzmiller, Resource Conservation, 15 years

Harford County

Christopher Prigge, Resource Conservation, 10 years         

Howard County

Wendy Lloyd, Resource Conservation, 10 years

Kent County

Robert Hofstetter, Pesticide Regulation, 15 years
Robert Myers, Resource Conservation, 15 years


Philip Davidson, State Chemist, 15 years

Prince George's County

Gaye Williams, Plant Protection, 35 years
Pegeen Morgan, Vet Board, 35 years

Somerset County

Glenda Mrohs, Resource Conservation, 25 years 
Mark Carey, Resource Conservation, 10 years

St. Mary's County

John Heard, Mosquito Control, 45 years
Parran Russell, Resource Conservation, 15 years

Talbot County

Daniel Schwaninger, Nutrient Management, 15 years
Kimberly Rice, Plant Protection, 15 years
Peter Councell, Pesticide Regulation, 15 years

Washington County

Lane Heimer, Weed Control, 30 years
Christopher Herbert, Resource Conservation, 15 years

Wicomico County

Richard Glasgow, Resource Conservation, 30 years
Dawn Bradley, MACS Program, 15 years
Thomas Phillips, Resource Conservation, 15 years
John Hughes, Resource Conservation, 10 years
Ina Ingraham, Resource Conservation, 30 years


Laura Iacona, Food Quality, 15 years, Delaware
Jay Duell, Resource Conservation, 30 years, Pennsylvania
Bryce Miller, Food Quality Assurance, 15 years, Pennsylvania
Andrew Thomas, Resource Conservation, 10 years,  Pennsylvania

Around the Web


0 Comments Write your comment

    1. Loading...