National Merit Scholarship Corp. Honors County Students

  • By

The National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) recently honored 11 Charles County Public Schools students for their academic success through the 2010 National Merit Scholarship and Achievement programs.            

La Plata High School senior Marcus Cole and North Point High School seniors Malcolm Lawanson and Julian Scrivens were named semifinalists in the National Achievement Scholarship Program. They were selected from more than 1,600 students nationwide and were considered for the program when they took the 2008 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMST) as high school juniors.  

As semifinalists, these students will have the opportunity to advance to the finalist level and compete for one of 800 Achievement Scholarship Awards, worth more than $2.6 million, to be offered next spring. Finalists are selected on the basis of their abilities, accomplishments and potential for success in rigorous college studies.  

The NMSC also commends and refers students to colleges for their SAT/PSAT performance. The following students were commended or referred to colleges:  

National Merit Scholarship Program
Commended students in the National Merit Scholarship Program are:

·        Rosemary Garcia, La Plata;

·        Malcolm Lawanson, North Point;

·        Julian Scrivens, North Point; and

·        Justin Turner, Thomas Stone High School. 

National Achievement Program
National Achievement Program participants referred to colleges are:

·        Taryn Smith, Maurice J. McDonough High School;

·        Kenjeray Bennett, North Point;

·        Jade Dyson, North Point; and

·        Biola Ijadare, Stone.  

The NMSC is a non-profit organization that was established in 1955 to conduct the annual National Merit Program. Scholarships awarded through the program are underwritten by NMSC’s funds and more than 500 business organizations and other educational institutions with the goal of honoring the nation’s scholastic students and the pursuit of academic excellence.


The National Merit Scholarship Corporation provides the names of commended and referred students to each school.


Around the Web


0 Comments Write your comment

    1. Loading...