Eight Maryland Schools Named National Blue Ribbon Schools

Baltimore, MD -  September 28, 2019 - U.S. Secretary of Education Betsy DeVos has recognized eight Maryland schools as National Blue Ribbon Schools for 2019. The recognition is based on a school’s overall academic performance or progress in closing achievement gaps among student subgroups.

“We recognize and honor your important work in preparing students for successful careers and meaningful lives” said U.S. Secretary of Education Betsy DeVos in a video message to the honorees. “As a National Blue Ribbon School, your school demonstrates what is possible when committed educators hold all students and staff to high standards and create vibrant, innovative cultures of teaching and learning.”
“Education is our number one priority, and these eight schools represent the best of what Maryland has to offer – exceptional teachers working with dedicated students to achieve great success in the classroom and beyond,” said Governor Larry Hogan. “We congratulate the leadership, teachers, students, parents, and everyone involved with these outstanding schools on this distinguished honor.”

Dr. Karen Salmon, State Superintendent of Schools, agreed that the coveted National Blue Ribbon Schools designation affirms the dedicated efforts of Maryland educators, families, and communities working to achieve equity and opportunity for all students.

Dr. Salmon stated, “Our Blue Ribbon schools are models for how educators can partner with the community to create safe and welcoming schools where students master challenging and engaging content. It also honors the work we are doing across the state in closing achievement gaps among students, and raising standards for quality instruction.” 

The Maryland schools honored this year were: Clarksville Middle School, Clarksville, Howard county; Glenarden Woods Elementary School, Lanham, Prince George’s county; Ocean City Elementary School, Ocean City, Worcester county; Mount Harmony Elementary School, Owings, Calvert county; Pinewood Elementary School, Timonium, Baltimore County; Urbana High School, Ijamsville, Frederick county; Saint Joseph Regional Catholic School, Beltsville, Archdiocese of Washington; and Saint Raphael School, Rockville, Archdiocese of Washington.

Now in its 37th year, the National Blue Ribbon Schools Program has bestowed recognition on more than 9,000 schools. On November 14 and 15, the Secretary and the Department of Education will celebrate with 312 public and 50 non-public school honorees at an awards ceremony in Washington, D.C.

Photographs and brief descriptions of the 2019 National Blue Ribbon Schools are available at

Around the Web


0 Comments Write your comment

    1. Loading...