Wahl to Run Unopposed in Mayor's Race

Chesapeake Beach Mayor Bruce A. Wahl is nearing completion of his first term in office and appears free to start planning for the next four years at that post. After the Tuesday, Sept. 11 deadline for filing for the November municipal election, Wahl was the only resident who had filed to run for mayor.

All six of the town council seats are up for grabs. Five of the six incumbents filed to seek reelection. The current members running in November are: council vice chairman Patrick J. “Irish” Mahoney, Stewart B. Cumbo, Dr. Valerie Beaudin, Robert Carpenter and Julie Spano. Incumbent Ingrid Lamb did not file as a candidate in the council race.

Mahoney will be seeking his fifth term on the panel. Cumbo is vying for his fourth consecutive term while Beaudin is seeking a third straight term. Carpenter and Spano are both running for their second four-year terms.

There are seven town residents seeking seats on the council. Those candidates are: Wesley Donovan, Gail Harris, David Hendry, Jeff Krahling, Jeff LaBar, Frank Purdy and Eric Reinhardt.

Krahling was one of five mayoral candidates in the 2008 election, which Wahl won handily. Purdy was a 2008 town council candidate and finished seventh, as Lamb outpolled him by less than 100 votes.

LaBar is the current chairman of the town’s planning and zoning commission.

Donovan is the son of former Chesapeake Beach Mayor Gerald Donovan.

The Calvert County League of Women Voters will hold a candidates forum for those vying for elected office in Chesapeake Beach. The forum will be held Tuesday, Oct. 23 from 6:30 - 9 p.m. at the Northeast Community Center.

The town election will be held Tuesday, Nov. 6 from 7 a.m. - 8 p.m. in Room C of the Northeast Community Center.

Contact Marty Madden at

Around the Web


0 Comments Write your comment

    1. Loading...