Among Prizes for Teacher of the Year: A New Convertible

  • St Mary's County
  • By

Stephanie B. Flick, a kindergarten/first grade teacher at Benjamin Banneker Elementary School, has been chosen as one of seven finalists for the 2006-2007 Maryland Teacher of the Year award.

“This year’s finalists demonstrate exemplary talents and dedication to teaching our school-aged children,” said State Superintendent of Schools Nancy Grasmick. “They have helped to make Maryland education the best in the country and they, unequivocally, deserve our recognition.”

Flick is a graduate of Randolph Macon College and is a full-inclusion, kindergarten and first grade looping teacher.

The other teachers under consideration for the award are:
Susan A. Casler, Anne Arundel County; Kenneth B. Fischer, Carroll County; Mark C. Sunkel, Frederick County; Lisa M. Bender, Garrett County; Diana D. Churchman, Wicomico County; and Michelle M. Hammond, Worcester County.

At Banneker Elementary, Flick is a mentor to new teachers, the chair and founder of her school’s Morale Committee, an active member of the Social Committee, PTA, and volunteer for the Boys & Girls Club.

She served as the President of the Student Education Association, and is the teacher representative for the student newspaper.

Stephanie has received the following awards: Outstanding Woman in Education Award, R. Bowen Hardesty Award and Scholarship, and the R.E.B. Award.

The list of finalists was chosen by a panel of judges from key Maryland education organizations representing principals, teachers, school boards, teacher unions, students, and parents.

Finalists were measured against a rigorous set of national criteria that include teaching philosophy, community involvement, knowledge of general education issues, and suggestions for professional and instructional improvement.

Oral interviews with the seven finalists are scheduled for Sept. 16, and the award winner will be announced at a gala on Oct. 6.

The winner will receive cash awards, technology equipment, national travel opportunities, and a 2007 Pontiac Solstice Convertible.

Maryland’s current 2005-2006 Teacher of the Year, Kimberly Oliver, was named the National Teacher of the Year by President Bush in April 2006.

The Maryland Teacher of the Year will go on to compete for the esteemed National Teacher of the Year award. The winner will also spend the coming year as a speaker and advisor in Maryland.

The program is sponsored by the Maryland Automobile Dealers Association, McDonald’s Family of Greater Baltimore, Northrop Grumman, Bank of America, Comcast, Lockheed Martin, Whiting-Turner, Verizon and Peripheral Vision, LLC.

Below St. Mary's Schools Superintendent Dr. Michael Martirano presents Flick with balloons for being chosen St. Mary's County Teacher of the Year. In 2005 the county award was given to Park Hall Elementary teacher Julia Wolfe.



Around the Web


0 Comments Write your comment

    1. Loading...