Banneker teacher named to Hope Swann Hall of Fame

  • By

Kim Weaver, a teacher at Benjamin Banneker Elementary School, has been named the 2007 recipient of the annual Hope Swann Educator’s Hall of Fame Award.

This award, established by the Margaret Brent High School Alumni Association, recognizes an outstanding educator who best exemplifies the strong character, standards, and ideals of Hope Swann, a long-time science educator in St. Mary’s County who made countless contributions to the community.

“Ms. Weaver is an incredible hands-on science teacher,” said Dr. Michael J. Martirano, St. Mary's County's superintendent of schools.  “Her classroom is a laboratory of learning where children are fully engaged every minute of every school day.”

As the recipient of this award, Ms. Weaver will receive $500 and have her name added to the Hope Swann Hall of Fame plaque located in the school system’s Central Administration building on Moakley Street in Leonardtown. In addition, Ms. Weaver will be recognized at the June 13 Board of Education meeting.

Around the Web


0 Comments Write your comment

    1. Loading...