Currently
°F
Forecasts

Familiar names, tribute bands will ‘Rock the Dock'


Chesapeake Beach, MD -
After a successful 2015 season, the bayside town of Chesapeake Beach is getting ready for another five-month interval of great entertainment. Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa’s outdoor venue—a resurrection of the town’s iconic bandshell—will again be the spot for “Rock the Dock.”

“We learned a lot last year,” said Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa’s Entertainment Director Murphy Smilardo, who told The BayNet Rock the Dock 2016 “will be better than last year. If Mother Nature’s good to us we should have a fantastic year.”

The lineup is a blend of familiar names, tribute bands and a few regional favorites.

The familiar artists include famed California rhythm and blues group The Whispers (Friday, June 3), soul legends The Winstons (Sunday, June 19), the multi-talented 1970s/1980s hit-maker Eddie Money (July 15) [pictured, right], legendary pop group Blood, Sweat and Tears (Friday, July 29); County Music Hall of Famer Ronnie Milsap (Friday, Aug. 5), another legendary soul act, Harold Melvin’s Blue Notes (Sunday, Aug. 28); and the artist who penned and sang the provocative ballad “American Pie,” Don McLean (Friday, Sept. 2). Show times will vary for these performances.

Among the tribute artists and acts on the schedule, there are Sir Rod (Rod Stewart, Thursday, May 26), Second Hand News (Fleetwood Mac tribute, Thursday, June 2), Slippery When Wet (Bon Jovi tribute, Thursday, June 9), Live at the Fillmore (Allman Brothers tribute, Thursday, June 16), The Deloreans (80s tribute, Thursday, June 23), All My Rowdy Friends (Hank Williams Jr. tribute, Thursday, June 30), Caribbean Chillers (Jimmy Buffett tribute, Thursday, July 7), Pandora’s Box (Aerosmith tribute, Thursday, July 14), The Long Run (Eagles tribute, Thursday, July 21), Satisfaction (Rolling Stones tribute, Thursday, July 28), Who’s Bad (Michael Jackson tribute, Thursday, Aug. 4), The Ultimate Stevie Wonder Experience (Thursday, Aug. 11), Bruce in the USA (Bruce Springsteen tribute, Thursday, Aug. 18), Zoso (Led Zeppelin tribute, Thursday, Aug. 25) and High Voltage (AC/DC tribute, Thursday, Sept. 1). All of the Thursday night tribute shows will run from 7 to 9 p.m.

Some of the regional acts booked for shows—many more than one appearance—for 2016 Rock the Dock include Great Train Robbery, No Where Men, 2 for U, Kings of Crownsville, John Luskey, New Censation, Chyp Andi and Jimi Smooth. Check the Rock the Dock web page for information on dates and times for those performers.

Smilardo said it is a good idea to purchase tickets as early as possible for savings. He added that tickets for the June 3 show featuring The Whispers are already beginning to sell. “We’ll be packed,” he predicted. 

Smilardo added that there will be a "food court" set up for some of the bigger shows on the Rock the Dock schedule.

More information about Chesapeake Beach Resort and Spa is available on their web site.

Contact Marty Madden at marty.madden@thebaynet.com

Around the Web

Loading...

0 Comments Write your comment

    1. Loading...