Three New Trustees Appointed to the CSM Board of Trustees

  • By

Three new trustees have been appointed to the College of Southern Maryland Board of Trustees, effective immediately. Mary Maddox Krug of Calvert County, Dorothea Holt Smith of Charles County and Janice T.Walthour of St. Mary's County have been appointed by Gov. Martin J.O'Malley to fill vacancies on the board.

CSM's Board of Trustees is the governing body providing leadership and oversight of the college's mission and policies. Members are appointed by the governor for five-year terms, and by 2010 the board will consist of nine members, with Calvert, Charles and St. Mary's counties to be equally represented.

A Calvert County Commissioner from 1990-1998, Krug has worked as chief of the news bureau for the Smithsonian Institution, and press spokesman for the National Capital Region's National Park Service. Additionally she was the local government affairs representative for Constellation Energy Group and continues as editor of the Chesapeake Beach Town newsletter. She received both her bachelor's degree and juris doctor (with honors) from George Washington University. She practices with Handen & Singerman in Prince Frederick.

Her previous public service has included Maryland Association of Counties, officer and board member; Metropolitan Washington Air Quality Committee, vice chair; Maryland Economic Growth, Resource Protection and Planning Commission; task force to revise Article 66B, Maryland Code; Institute for Governmental Service, University of Maryland, member and chair; Local Government Insurance Trust, Board of Trustees; Tri-County Council of Southern Maryland; Calvert County Democratic Central Committee; and education committee, transition teams for Parris Glendening and Martin O'Malley.

She has been involved with the PTA, Calvert County Children's Council, Calvert Crusade for Children Board of Directors, Calvert Marine Museum Board, and the Parks and Recreation advisory council. Presently she serves with Success by 6 Leadership Council (chair, 2000-2006); Calvert Memorial Hospital Board of Directors, secretary; New York Avenue Presbyterian Church, elder; and Leadership in Action Task force for Southern Maryland to improve school readiness (Casey Foundation).

A retired educator, Smith began her 30-year teaching career in 1965 in the Charles County Public School System. She is a past recipient of the Agnes Meyer Outstanding Teacher Award presented by the "Washington Post," and of the Charles County Teacher of the Year Award. A language arts-reading instructor of middle school students, Smith also held various positions on the Executive Board of the Educational Association of Charles County and the faculty representative to the teacher's association for John Hanson Middle School.

Since her retirement Smith has been active in numerous civic and community organizations, including serving as a county appointee on the Zoning Board of Appeals and the Citizens Advisory Committee on the Waldorf Upgrade/Bypass Study. Presently she serves on the Charles County Retired School Personnel Association Executive Board, the Charles County Sheriff's Citizens Advisory Committee, the Hospice of Charles County Ethics Board, the African American Heritage Society of Charles County, and the Substance Abuse Advisory Coalition.

Smith is active with the American Cancer Society, participating in the county's annual Relay for Life as a team captain, a member of the relay planning committee and as the event's co-chair in 2002, 2003 and 2006.

A life-long resident of St. Mary's County, Walthour graduated from George Washington School High School in 1968 when it

Around the Web


0 Comments Write your comment

    1. Loading...